Premio Mario Solinas



Goya Spain takes 1st Prize in the Packers category at the Mario Solinas Quality Award

The International Olive Council (IOC) has published the winners of the 23rd edition of the Mario Solinas Quality Award. Thus, out of the seven categories established, Goya Spain took 1st prize in the Packers category for extra virgin olive oils for its GOYA® Unico Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

GOYA® Unico, premium coupage packaged by Goya Spain, is the result of meticulously selecting the very best Hojiblanca and Picuda varieties in Andalusia (Spain). Unico provides a sensory experience with an intense aroma of fresh herbs, fruit trees and tomatoes. The fruity green aroma has prominent notes of almond, tomato and apple. The fruity green aroma has prominent notes of almond, tomato and apple.

“We are extremely proud of receiving this award from the International Olive Council, which has recognized the dedication of Goya Spain since it was founded in 1974, for packing extra virgin olive oils made from the best olives harvested from groves in the south of Spain,” stated General Manager of Goya Spain, Antonio Carrasco.

260 International Awards

Including the Mario Solinas Quality Award, Goya Spain extra virgin olive oils (factory located in Alcalá de Guadaíra (Seville) and a leader and benchmark in oil and olive production in Andalusia) have now been honored with 260 awards and recognitions from international contests and competitions. At present, during the 2022/23 season, GOYA® Unico has won—among others—gold medals at international competitions in Los Angeles, New York and Japan (JOOP Prize), 1st prize for Best Oil in the category of Packers/Marketers at the ESAO Awards and they were ranked as the Best Coupage in Spain by the IberOleum Guide.

Every year, the Mario Solinas Quality Award recognizes the quality of extra virgin olive oils, which represents a unique opportunity to provide visibility and prestige to the producers awarded in international markets. A total of 117 samples from Argentina, Brazil, China, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia and Türkiye were submitted to the 2023 edition.